Millbury’s Frankian is bound for Assumption

Millbury High girls’ basketball star Julie Frankian ended the suspense a little early, announcing last week she will play basketball at Assumption after she graduates next year.

Frankian has cemented herself into Millbury’s storied basketball legacy, helping the Woolies to four straight Central Mass. Division 2 titles and three consecutive state finals. Frankian has already eclipsed the 1,000-point mark and averaged 17.3 points per game last year and was named to her third straight SWCL all-star team.

Frankian said Assumption was the culmination of a process that began in eighth grade with recruiting letters from all over. Frankian said the Northeast-10 schools had recently stepped up their efforts for her services and in the end Assumption was the best fit for her because it was close to home and she wanted to be a part of a close team and a competitive program.

Frankian took time to answer some questions for Extra Points (thanks to Facebook).

Why Assumption?  What made the school a great fit?

I wanted a school that: had a good education program,  a competitive basketball program, a team that was like a family and a school that was pretty close to home.  Assumption, to me, is the perfect fit.

I love everything about Assumption… the school, the coaches, the team, how they all interact and their style of basketball. Their game is fast and intense. Just my style. It’s a small school where I’ll get a great education.  The coaches seem committed to helping the kids be the best they can be both on the court and in the classroom.  The kids on the team seem really close and like they get along good. They seem like they work hard, have fun together and they help each other succeed. It  reminds me a lot of all the things I love about Millbury, Millbury basketball and my AAU team. For me it seems like it will be the perfect balance of school and basketball.   And, I love that it is close to home so my family and friends can come to the games.

What other schools were in the picture?

Merrimack, Roger Williams, Southern New Hampshire University, University of New Haven and University of Rhode Island.

What was the process like?

Since, 8th grade I’ve been getting questionnaires, emails and letters ranging everywhere from the Merchant Marines to the University of Memphis. I’ve received everything from form letters and student athlete questionnaires to very personalized recruitment letters. All of them looking for all background information on both school and basketball and many wanting to get me to come visit the campus and meet the coaches.

Right after our high school season ended and my AAU season started, the letters and emails started to get a lot more frequent and serious, especially from a lot of schools in the Northeast 10.  We played in a couple showcases and I was surprised by how many schools I heard from.  Actually, that’s when I heard from Assumption and they offered me the scholarship.

I’m lucky, I had started looking at schools last fall.  I was getting confused with all the mail I was getting.  So, my AAU coach sat down with me and helped me get focused about everything I was looking for in a college and a basketball program starting with how far away from home I was willing to go.  After getting focused,  I made a list of about 10 schools that had expressed interest in me and had what I was looking for.   My parents and I visited schools, went on tours, met the coaches and went to basketball games.   I am so glad we did that when we did.  It’s real time consuming.  But, when Assumption came to me with their offer, there were only a couple schools that I still wanted to visit.  As soon  as I did that, I knew, that Assumption was the school for me.

Was it important for you to get it done early and have a relaxing senior year or was it something you realized you wanted as the process went along?

Honestly, I never imagined this happening like this. I was told, that especially with D2, schools usually recruit for a specific position to replace kids that are graduating that year.   I wanted to play good this AAU season and I was hoping that one of the schools I liked would also like me and would need my position.  My AAU team is in a lot of showcases this spring/summer with the Penn State tournament (over 4th of July ) being one of the biggest recruiting showcases for girls.  I assumed that coaches would contact kids after Penn State.  Getting offers this early in the season was a surprise.  For a few weeks, I had a lot on my mind.  It all happened so fast.

But, once I verbally committed, I felt relieved and was positive I made the right decision.  Now, I can enjoy the rest of my junior year and my AAU season.  It will be fun going into my senior year, knowing that I’m going to be a Greyhound and the only things I have to worry about are doing good in school and basketball.

Leave a comment

Filed under Basketball

Leave a Reply

