Martinek heading to Maine

Nashoba Regional softball star and former Telegram & Gazette Super Teamer Stephanie Martinek signed a Letter of Intent earlier this week to attend the University of Maine next fall and play softball for the Black Bears.

Martinek should be a lock for her fourth Mid-Wach B all-star nod this spring and has been a four-year starter for the Chieftains.

Last year Martinek led Nashoba’s charge to the Central Mass. Division 1 final, leading the league with a .583 average and setting a school record for hits in a season with 51. Martinek entered the season with 117 career hits for the Chieftains and entering this week she had a team-high .580 average with 51 hits. Martinek also has 21 career home runs.

Martinek was considering many schools, but she fell in love with the campus and the coaches at Maine.

“They made you feel really welcomed and just all around I loved it,” Martinek said. “Its far, but the feeling I get when I’m there just makes it feel like its worth it.”

Martinek is happy to have the long process over and is excited to start a career as a Division 1 athlete. She is also excited to be playing against girls she knows from summer softball.

“They’re what made me strive to be better and love the sport,” Martinek said. “I love a challenge and I feel like it will only make me better. I’m very competitive and with Division 1 its going to challenge me, and want me to get better at the sport I have been playing since I can remember.”

Nashoba coach Steve Kendall thinks Martinek will fit right in at the next level.

“Stef is an outstanding defensive catcher and has a cannon for an arm,” said Kendall. “She has great bat speed as evidenced by her career batting average and hit total. She is definitely one of the top catchers in the state.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Softball

Leave a Reply

